Midwest Knit Girl

Stitches West – California

Posted on: November 3, 2006

I don’t know how many of you are familiar with the Stitches Events that XRX puts on every year. They have them on the west coast, the east coast and the mid-west, as well as a camp in the summer. I’ve been attending the west coast (CA) and the mid-west (IL) for about the last 3 years. They’re my mini-vacations! If you’re interested in attending the California one that’s coming up in February, sign up begins November 9th.  Some of the classes will require homework and others don’t. I don’t mind the homework, it’s something to do in the airport and on the plane, you know? There’s a pdf file out on their site that you can peruse but word of warning – it’s really big. I didn’t bother to print it; I just browsed through it and picked out 4 classes. Maybe I’ll see some of you there. Let me know, it would be fun to meet up! 

Note to Jae – if you go to this one or the Illinois one we’ll have to make sure we hook up this time. J 

My choices: 

The Joys Of Steeks with Maureen Mason-Jamieson (I’ve never cut my knitting before so I just have to see what this is about)

Never cut a steek before? Learn all you need to know to make your first steek a successful experience. Learn where to use steeks, the best methods of construction, sewing and finishing, then cut one of your own. 

Complete From The Neck Down with Barry Klein

Cast on and create a miniature sweater from the top down wile learning about body style, measurements, the mathematics behind the knitting, and putting it all together. 

Pattern Writing 101 with Edie Eckman (I have so many ideas in my head!)

If you have a design you’d like to get published or just want to share your design with other knitters, you need to be able to write it so others can read it. Learn how to take your idea from concept to written pattern, avoiding typical mistakes along the way. Explore the joys and pitfalls of grading patterns for a number of different sizes, and pick up tips for getting your designs accepted for publication. 

The Wonders Of Linen Stitch with Karen Alfke (this is a cool stitch!)

Using only one color every two rows, learn to blend yarns and show off variegated yarns in a woven-stitch pattern that’s great for everything from scarves to bags. (I personally like this stitch better in one solid color but I thought I’d see what mixing colors would be like). 

Good luck on picking YOUR classes!

2 Responses to "Stitches West – California"

Sounds like fun.

~firefly

Hi Patty! I just wanted to let you know that your mittens made it out this week — so you should have them by today, but if not today, Monday at the very latest! I hope you like them — you did a great job hosting the swap! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

History

