Midwest Knit Girl

Christmas Get To Know Me

Posted on: December 2, 2006

A friend of mine sent this to me in my email and what you do is send the questions about Christmas and your answers to 10 people plus her. It’s a great way to get to know people!

However, I thought why not put it out here and see how many of you put this on your blog. Leave a comment if you do, then KB can see everyone’s answers too! I bet more than 10 of you do it! 

1. Wrapping paper or gift bags? That depends on the size or shape of the gift. I like boxes so paper works great but gift bags always come in handy for those difficult to wrap.

2. Real tree or artificial? Real. In fact, we drive to a tree farm and walk around and look for our own. Then hubby chops it down and hauls it to the truck.

3. When do you put up the tree? We get the tree the day after Thanksgiving so it’s usually up by that Sunday following.

4. When do you take the tree down? We don’t get to see all of our family for the holidays until mid January or so. It stays up until then. Last year we started something new that I think we’ll do again this year. The night of the last family gathering we’ll take all the ornaments off, pack them up (amazing how fast that goes when it’s not just me!), then bring the tree outside to the firepit and have a fire. Since we stop watering it about a week before, it’s just perfect for the fire.

5. Do you like eggnog? It’s too rich for me but hubby could drink it by the gallon.

6. Favorite gift you received as a child? I answered this one last because it took me some time to think about it. We weren’t too well off growing up so whatever we did get was quite precious. I remember getting a Barbie doll and a hand crocheted wedding dress for her. I still have both (picture will be added later today). I think I was about 6 or 7.

Edited to add that I don’t know why it took me so long to figure this out. I’ve only kept a few things from my childhood that are dear to me and the Barbie doll and dress is one of them. Here’s the picture (go here to see it bigger: )

7. Do you have a nativity scene? Yes and no. Some pieces broke and I haven’t replaced them so I don’t put it out.

8. Hardest person to buy for? My husband!

9. Easiest person to buy for? My mom – she loves everything. 🙂

10. Worst Christmas present? I honestly don’t think I’ve ever received anything that I didn’t think I’d find useful in some way. (Was that tactful enough?)

11. Mail or email Christmas cards? I mail them. I handmake them so it’s tough to send via cyberspace.

12. Favorite Christmas movie? Frosty The Snowman

13. When you start shopping? I’m always thinking about Christmas so throughout the year.

14.  Have you ever recycled a Christmas present? Yes, but it was about 5 or 6 years later and it wasn’t getting used so we donated it to the needy.

15. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas? Toss up – the turkey and any treat that was made with dark chocolate. I swoon…

16. Clear lights or color lights on the tree? The tree gets colored lights. But outside the lilac bushes in the backyard get clear, the deck and the fake palm tree have clear, the front of the house and garage get colored lights.

17. Favorite Christmas song? The 12 Days of Christmas

18. Travel at Christmas or stay at home? In the past we alternated between going out of town (staying in the state) or going to my MIL’s. But that’s been changing. This year we’re staying home and going to a Christmas buffet on Christmas Eve afternoon and spending Christmas Eve and Day at home. Just the two of us.

19. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeers? No – isn’t that sad? 

20. Angel on top of the tree or star? An angel. Hubby bought me a really pretty angel with a silver dress and beads at Seasonal Concepts in our early years as a Christmas present. It even lights up. We’ve used it ever since.

21. Open the presents Christmas Eve or Christmas morning? We open one each on Christmas Eve, then everything else on Christmas Day except for what we’d like wait on for the last family gathering in January.

22. Most annoying thing about this time of year? They put out the Christmas stuff far too early. For goodness sakes, Halloween wasn’t even done and it was out. Waaaay too early.

23. What I love most about Christmas? The food!! And the fact I get to see my little brother, B. He’s so busy with his life that we only get to see him a couple of times a year.

24. Don’t forget – the cranberries! (If you’ve even seen Louie Anderson’s comedy bit he talks about his mother jumping out of her chair mid-holiday meal, arms in the air and crying out – the cranberries, I forgot the cranberries!)  

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

History

