Midwest Knit Girl

Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

Posted on: December 7, 2006

Can you hear Bing Crosby singing this? Okay, then you’re too young. He sings it with a woman who’s name escapes me right now. But it’s such a cute song. I mention it because it’s cold here in the tundra of the midwest. When I left for work this morning it was below zero (I think it was -2 or -3) and then the windchill made it feel like about -15. Brrrr.

But I was prepared as I was wearing my super warm coat that would make even the skinniest person (um, not me) look heavy. Actually? I think we all look like weebles here when we’re dressed functionally (hehe) for the weather. Do you remember them? Weebles wobble but they don’t fall down??

Here’s my observation for the week. And it isn’t new to me nor will it be new to some of you – for me it’s just that I forget about this until winter hits each year. I am continually amazed at the number of people that dress for fashion when it’s -3 degrees instead of wearing something they AND you know would be warmer. Do they really think they look ‘cool’ all dressed to the nines in their barely there coats, skirts, high heels (yep, there are those who take my bus downtown with me who are wearing skirts, high heels and wussy coats all winter long).  Believe it or not, fashionable winter coats do exist to go with your fashionable outfit. But hey, it’s YOUR legs and feet that are freezing, not mine. Not to mention some other parts that are getting a bit of a breeze. Ahem. I say you look foolish but I guess that’s your choice. Oh, it’s not just the young ones doing this either, I promise you. There are a couple my age (gasp) who dress this way too. Just can’t figure it out (scratches head).

Tonight’s agenda: 

1. Survivor/All My Children (I flip between the two, AMC is on cable)

2. Knitting a hat for a friend of ours for a Christmas present.

Have a nice evening. 😉

2 Responses to "Baby, It’s Cold Outside!"

Went on a 2 day trip with the family about 1.5 hours away. Not used to being outside walking around so grabbed a hoodie not thinking. Learned lesson check the weather before walking 2 blocks. Stopped at a gift shop they wanted to sell me a sweatshirt that said Baltimore for 40 bucks. When walking saw ladies wearing barely any clothes I kept wondering how in the world are they not freezing?

Hope you have a relaxing weekend!

Shannon
berrytini.wordpress.com

Hi! Visiting from the Potholder exchange blog. Just have to say that I do remember the Weebles…my 2 year old son LOVES the current ones! And your story about looking cool in cold weather reminded me of a cartoon I read in our Sunday comic strips once (“For Better or Worse” comic strip) where the mom is telling the dad, I believe, while looking at their “cool” son head out for school in the winter snow with no coat…”It’s hard to be warm when you’re trying to dress cool.” (or something like that) I got a chuckle out of it, and it has stuck with me.

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

History

