Midwest Knit Girl

Another Surprise Package

Posted on: December 17, 2006

I think I am the luckiest girl in the world. Seriously. I have an uncle who is in his early 70’s who is a ‘mud man’ (read – concrete). Been doing that nearly all his adult life once he got out of the service. He picked up a hobby when he was very young (need to find out how he learned about this) that he calls chip carving. He tapes his forefinger and his thumb with masking tape, takes some balsam wood and with a single edged razor blade starts carving. I kid you not. He’s made toy box sized trunks, plaques/plates, recipe boxes, you name it.

Yesterday I received the most beautiful thing I think I have ever received in my life. It’s beautiful not only in its craftsmanship but because he made it for ME and it came from his heart. The patterns that he’s used over the years are his own. He’s never sold any of his work, it’s all for family and dear friends. I’ve attached pictures below of the recipe box he sent me. And on Christmas day when I get to see him and my Auntie I’ll be sure to get a picture of him and I together to share with you. He has eyes that sparkle!!

Go to my flickr account to see the detail up close (and more in focus, wordpress doesn’t like it when you change the size of the pic here, apparently)  – the sides, top and front are all different patterns and you really have to see this up close to appreciate the art.

 http://www.flickr.com/photos/knitgirl63

4 Responses to "Another Surprise Package"

Beautiful! I love hand worked wooden pieces.

You are very lucky! They are beautiful!

Happy Holidays…looking forward to the knitalong with Zen – Lucy lu.

wow amazing workmanship :o) a work of art to treasure for always – lucky you :o)

Absolutely gorgeous! It must be stunning to view in person.

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

History

