Midwest Knit Girl

Busy, Busy, Busy

Posted on: February 18, 2007

What’s going on with me? I’ll tell ya!

1. Went to the MOA to return shoes and checked out the so called ‘Knit Out’ they had there. Nothing spectacular at all. Nothing to even BUY. But they were giving away patterns and Lion Brand gave away a huge bag to everyone who got in line. Glad I didn’t go there just for that or I would have been very disappointed. But since I’m going to CA on Wed – I don’t really care! There will be so much there to see, feel and buy at the market that I’ll have a great time. 

2. I’m doing laundry so I have stuff I need for California. I’m one of those who has everything I’m bringing on my trip on the dining room table at least 2 nights before I actually leave. That way I can look at it over those couple of days and see if there’s anything I’m missing or if I’m bringing too much. Even though I always make a list I have to think of things like the weather, do I bring an umbrella or not? Do I just bring a hooded windbreaker or both? Do I bring one project or 100? Do I bring 2 novels or 1? Do I bring a magazine? On the plane or just in my suitcase? By the time I get on the plane I’m ready for my earplugs and a nap. 🙂

3. Going through my emails shortly to see who I owe responses to. I apologize for the delay folks, it’s just been kind of busy. But I will be responding before I leave on Wed, that I will promise you.

4. I had a Stitch & Whine yesterday with my BF, my sister, my cousin, her daughter (she’s 20 something and crochets so fast it makes my head spin) and my mom. Lots of laughter, lots of silliness and I didn’t get more than a couple of rows knitted because I was too busy chatting (who, me?).

5. I mentioned a few posts ago that I was swatching for a Hanne Falkenberg sweater. No more. I came up with one idea for the yarn and now I’ve come up with an even better idea. I have some Brooks Farm Fiber Silk Mohair that I bought about 3 or 4 years ago. It’s gorgeous. I’ve mentioned it before, I’ve had a hard time trying to find the right pattern yet but I’ve got 2500 yards of it. It’s variegated, mostly purples but it has a splash of turquoise here and there. Well, I found a pattern in my Best of Lopi book and it’s called Marta. It’s worked from cuff to cuff in two pieces, then those are knitted together, then you pick up the stitches from the bottom of it to begin knitting the bottom part. Pretty clever. Well, I’m going to use a double strand of my mohair for the cuffs, then one strand of mohair and one strand of the wool from the HF kit (I have lilac, blueberry and purple to use) for the rest of the top part. Then for the bottom my plan is to use just 2 strands of mohair. Though I may end up doing one mohair and one wool, it will depend on how the drape would look of the mohair hanging down from the mohair/wool top. Follow? And I’m not doing anything with the white except to do a 2 stranded mohair border where you see the white.

Alright, must skeedaddle and shift the laundry. I hope everyone has a fantastic week.

5 Responses to "Busy, Busy, Busy"

I love the new blog look!

Take 1 book – you will never finish even 1. Bring 1 magazines, they’re good for flipping through. The knitting project you bring, has it been started yet? If so, are you almost done? If so, bring 2. If not, just bring one. Or one not started one yet!

It’s always best to not OVER pack. This way, more room to bring yarn home!

I’m glad to hear I missed nothing at the MOA!

I usually take one small book on the flight, for my non-knitting time, and my iPod with the headphones that drown out some of the noise (if any kids are around and they have a cold, it’s good to be able to at least the muffle their cries – poor things).

Also, I tend to take one new project that is cast-on at the airport. The finished project serves as a reminder of that trip.

Great tips, thank you both! I don’t have an iPod but I do have a CD player with headphones so that’s definitely going with me on the plane. I’ve just started the sweater I mentioned in this post so I think I’ll bring that for the hotel room and my socks (almost done with one) on the plane. Small and portable.

Have a great trip Patty. The Ipod is crucial! I live with my audible.com books all summer long (that drive to the cabin in Wis). Good luck with your sweater (#5 – I got confused halfway through the paragraph!

I can’t help you with the packing. I always bring waaayyyy too much. Have fun at Stitches! Are you going to the midwest one, too?

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

History

