Midwest Knit Girl

Sockswap

Posted on: July 21, 2007

On Monday I’ll be sending out a pair of socks to someone in Norway in a sockswap I’m in. I just hope they fit. They’re pretty loose on me and she has larger feet but my thought was to have them be bed socks so they could be a little bigger or wear them over regular socks (the yarn is thick). If nothing else, she can always wash them in hot water (sort of felting them I guess) and let them air dry. I’m also sending a few goodies along.

The pattern I used is by Beth Brown-Reinsel called Yummy Socks. You have the option doing a ribbed leg or a cabled (fake) leg and then you also have two options for the heel. One is called the auto heel which does NOT include a heel flap and the dutch heel which does require a heel flap and to me is the usual type. I chose the cabled leg and the auto heel. The heel was amazingly fast and easy. Only problem? I made the second one so fast that I have hurt my left hand – the outside of the thumb towards the padded area. Ouch, ouch, ouch. Very painful to grip things and VERY hard to button my shorts! That’s what I get for making a sock in under 4 hours. Duh, me. But it wasn’t 4 hours straight – it was, however, intense knitting sessions over 2 days while traveling to and from work on the bus and train and once I got home. I was just flying!

Anyway, here are the photos of the socks along with the close up of the heel area and the goodies that are headed to Norway.

P.S. I’ll have another update for the studio tomorrow. The guys have been putting the shingles up all day and they’re just about done.

The yarn is by Cascade Yarns, their Ecological Wool. Very nice to work with.

1 Response to "Sockswap"

hey email me your address:) How are you doing?

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

History

