Midwest Knit Girl

SP11 Q&A

Posted on: August 16, 2007

1. What is/are your favorite yarn/s to knit with? What fibers do you absolutely *not* like? I love wool, wool blends, cotton and bamboo, really most anything EXCEPT novelty yarns.

2. What do you use to store your needles/hooks in? I’m using a zippered makeup bag for some of my dpn’s (size 6 and up), a cloth roll bag for some other dpn’s (size 0-5) and I made a hanging pocket holder for my circs.

3. How long have you been knitting & how did you learn? Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced? I originally learned how in jr high but re-learned in 2000. I would put myself at intermediate – advanced.

4. Do you have an Amazon or other online wish list? I did for a while but I’ve forgotten the login info. Plus it felt weird to have it so I’m kind of glad I can’t login anymore.

5. What’s your favorite scent? Almonds and cherry – check out the Jergen’s Lotion Original Scent. That’s what I’m talking about! Actually, anything with that almond scent on its own is great, too.

6. Do you have a sweet tooth? Favorite candy? I only have a sweet tooth for dark chocolate and plain baked cheesecake. I actually prefer the salty stuff like chips and salsa or peanuts.

7. What other crafts or Do-It-Yourself things do you like to do? Do you spin? I don’t spin, I don’t have the patience I know would be necessary. I do work with stained glass (my husband is building me a studio – aka 10 x 12 shed) and have been experimenting with dyeing yarn.

8. What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3s? (if your buddy wants to make you a CD) Rolling Stones, The Beatles, Fleetwood Mac, Jimmy Buffett, Norah Jones, Joe Cocker, Eric Clapton.

9. What’s your favorite color(s)? Any colors you just can’t stand? Faves are the royal colors – blue, purple, green. Lately I’ve been hooked on combos with lime green, lime green with turquoise, lime green with shades of pink, or shades of brown.  Detest the color orange though I can tolerate it if it’s a small part of a veriagated skein.

10. What is your family situation? Do you have any pets? No pets, no pool, no fish, no kids (well, strike that last one, I have lovely step-daughter who is about to enter her last year of college but she lives with her mom – when did she grow up??).

11. Do you wear scarves, hats, mittens or ponchos? Yes, no, yes, definitely not.

12. What is/are your favorite item/s to knit? I do a lot of knitting for charity (hats, scarves, mittens, baby clothes, lap blankets) but for my family, friends and myself it’s mostly sweaters, socks, scarves, hats (not for me), mittens and socks.

13. What are you knitting right now? A sweater for my nephew, 3 pair of socks (2 pair for me and 1 pair for a Christmas gift) and I’m sure there’s other things but I won’t fess up to them right now. 🙂

14. Do you like to receive handmade gifts? Definitely!

15. Do you prefer straight or circular needles? Bamboo, aluminum, plastic? Circs, bamboo or aluminum.

16. Do you own a yarn winder and/or swift? Yes to both.

17. How old is your oldest UFO? Seven – still trying to get that afghan done before we buy new living room couches so it will have a place to live for a while.

18. What is your favorite holiday? It’s a tie – Thanksgiving and Christmas for the family gatherings and good food!

19. Is there anything that you collect? Turtles (no idea when that started) and these glass clowns that have a face on the front that’s smiling and the back side it’s frowning. But I have 6 of them right now so I’m holding off on getting anymore for a while – eventually they will find a home in the stained glass studio on a shelf by one of the windows.

20. Any books, yarns, needles or patterns out there you are dying to get your hands on? What knitting magazine subscriptions do you have? I have a subscription to Knitter’s and will for about another 3 years. I have a ton of books (see the list on the sidebar) so I’m good on this aspect.

21. Are there any new techniques you’d like to learn? Lace – I even have some incredible yarn to learn with but I can’t find a pattern that’s not intimidating to me.

22. Are you a sock knitter? What are your foot measurements? Love socks – length 9.25. My foot is wider toward the toes, think Fred Flintstone.

23. When is your birthday? May 2nd

24. Are you on Ravelry? If so, what’s your ID? I just got my invite 8/15! It’s knitgirl63.

1 Response to "SP11 Q&A"

Hello, nice post. Bookmark it.

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

History

