Midwest Knit Girl

Knitting Progress

Posted on: September 6, 2007

Yes – progress on the Monkey Sock has been had. I actually had to start it 3 times. The first time I was knitting on 4 needles (3 for the sock and 1 as the working needle) and realized why it would be a better idea to knit with 5 (4 for the sock and 1 as the working needle) – the pattern is a 16 stitch repeat each round so duh, 5 needles it is.

So I started over. Then because I’ve not knitted that way before my tension was goofy so I started over again – no need knitting a sloppy monkey sock. Now I’m happy with the progress and have been doing the happy monkey dance. (Oh, it’s in B&W just to mess with you. You’ll see the grand finale in color.)

I’m getting the hang of the pattern and I really like it. I’ll definitely plan to make another pair down the road for yours truly. Hey, see the monkey’s in the background? That’s a cool zippered pouch I found at Barnes & Noble. It will be going to my secret monkey pal with the socks along with some monkey stitchmarkers I’m going to make out of polymar clay.

Hmm. What else is going on. Oh, worked from home today. Well, couldn’t get to the company site because there’s something wrong with my login parameters and the helpLESS desk never called me back today. I was just pissed. I was able to do work in Excel on my work laptop though, that’s a very good thing. Otherwise, I would have been furious instead of just pissed. But I’m still going to be behind tomorrow and will need to work on Saturday because tomorrow I get to do my old job month end stuff in the morning.

Anyway, who cares about that right now? It’s after 6 and I put in a 9 1/2 hour day working from home so all’s fair in love and work.

Books. I bought books!

 

I was at Barnes and Noble yesterday and they had a sale on some books, buy 2 get the 3rd one free. I started reading Piece of Cake on the way home from work and was halfway through it by the time I went to bed last night. The life events this woman has suffered through and survived is like nothing I’ve read before.

It’s sometimes beyond my comprehension, at times I find myself shaking my head and thinking – wait, she’s alive another day?? HOW?

Here’s the description out on amazon.com of the book: 

There are shelves of memoirs about overcoming the death of a parent, childhood abuse, rape, drug addiction, miscarriage, alcoholism, hustling, gangbanging, near-death injuries, drug dealing, prostitution, or homelessness.

Cupcake Brown survived all these things before she’d even turned twenty.

And that’s when things got interesting.

 And here is one of the reviews about it:

Patrice Gaines – The Washington Post

A Piece of Cake doesn’t serve up delectable metaphors or feature rhythmic prose. Instead, it dazzles you with the amazing change that is possible in one lifetime. We see a woman learn to build a family from strangers who help her because she is another human being trying to overcome horrendous circumstances. It is a story that is poetic in its simplicity, beautifully stripped to the basics.

The other two books are The Sex Lives of Cannibals and The Traveler. The Cannibals book looks to be just plain funny. The other one is the first in a series of a books about what appears to be futuristic fantasy and thriller combined. Just good reading.

Before I sign off – don’t forget to sign up for my 3rd mitten swap – the link is on my sidebar. Ta ta!

 

1 Response to "Knitting Progress"

OH MY! I read the Traveler it is an AWESOME book! Is there a book 2 yet?

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

History

