Midwest Knit Girl

Contest – Time to Destash Again

Posted on: September 11, 2007

So here I am in a cruddy mood. BAD day at work. Got home and started telling hubby all about it and next thing you know I’m balling my head off like a baby. Guess I had held in my anger and frustration really well all day (either that or tell the director off – BEEP – not smart). But I feel better now and will speak to said director when I’m not so emotional about said director’s attitude and what was said in the conversation. What the heck does this have to do with a contest? Not a darn thing. 

I have yarn stash, my peeps, and it’s time to clean house. Not a lot but enough to make something – a scarf, socks (sorry, not the STR yarn…that’s mine, alllll  mine), other smaller items like that. We’ll have two winners as I’m really wanting to destash!

PRIZE:

Here’s the slight catch – but it’s only a slight one. As stated I’ll send the winners yarn stash but I would love to get a magnet from wherever each of you live in exchange. Sound fair? If so, read on. 

RULES:

1. Participant may be from the U.S.A., Canada or be one of our International friends (you’re left so much sometimes due to postage costs that I’m going to include you this time!).

2. Leave a comment on this post and answer the following questions – you must provide answers to all of them to be eligible so read carefully as they really are multiple questions within each:

a. If you didn’t have to earn money to make a living and you literally could afford to do anything you could possibly imagine  – what would it be and who would be with you?

b. If you could be someone other than yourself – who would it be and why?

c. If you could only bring ONE knitting project to a deserted island with you, what would it be and why?

3. You have until Friday, September 21st to leave your comments with answers.

4. Hubby and I will read all of the entries and between the two of us on Saturday night, September 22nd, out at the campfire while having a few fall adult drinkswe’ll determine two winners and I’ll announce them on Sunday, September, 23rd!

To be fair, the info will be put in a spreadsheet and given random numbers so we’re not influenced by who submitted their entry – makes it all the more fair that way since I know so many knitters. 🙂

9 Responses to "Contest – Time to Destash Again"

a. If you didn’t have to earn money to make a living and you literally could afford to do anything you could possibly imagine – what would it be and who would be with you? I would take my hubby & son of course with me, and I would take a cruise around the world because my dream is to travel the world and see everywhere, every inch of this globe.

b. If you could be someone other than yourself – who would it be and why? I’d love to be Sabrina Ward Harrison, because I am sooo inspired by her work, I’d love to know her thought process.

c. If you could only bring ONE knitting project to a deserted island with you, what would it be and why?
Anything socks. I’m addicted to sock knitting right now. And if my feet are cold, I’m cold. So gotta keep the feet warm!

– If I dont win, I’ll still send you a magnet from Montreal!

a. If you didn’t have to earn money to make a living and you literally could afford to do anything you could possibly imagine – what would it be and who would be with you?

I would be a stay at home mom, so that my kids could have the love and attention I believe growing kids need. On the side I would be a test knitter. I love to knit but the problem is I’m not able to wear a lot of knitted items because i find them too warm, It would be the perfect solution since I wouldn’t have to invent recipients to receive my knitted goods. Obviously my kids would be with me as well as my beloved boyfriend and my BFF Robyn.

b. If you could be someone other than yourself – who would it be and why?
I would be a famous knitwear designer because I love the idea of designing, but I’ve just never been very good at the whole design thing, I’m more systematic. Also it would allow me to keep doing what I’d love to do for a living.

c. If you could only bring ONE knitting project to a deserted island with you, what would it be and why?
A knitting bathing suit?? I don’t think there’d be much need for anything else knitted on a deserted island. Unless of course it was an island in Northern Canada. then it would be the biggest knitted blanket in history.

a. If you didn’t have to earn money to make a living and you literally could afford to do anything you could possibly imagine – what would it be and who would be with you?
Wow. So many choices. I think I would choose to be a novelist and a traveler–I would take my laptop all over the world. And live in places, not just be a tourist. Stay for weeks or months at a time. Who would be with you? You know, for that kind of adventure, I’d have to be by myself for part of the time. But in some of the places, like the Caribbean or Africa, it’d be great to have my family–hubby, kids, parents, brother. We’d have a lot of fun. If they’d leave me alone in the mornings so I could write.

b. If you could be someone other than yourself – who would it be and why?
Again, how to choose. Britney Spears. KIDDING! I think I’d like to try the life of a classic ballerina–an Anna Pavlova or Margot Fonteyn. I’ve always admired the classical arts, especially dance, and I’d love to be able to project emotion that way.

c. If you could only bring ONE knitting project to a deserted island with you, what would it be and why?
Finally, an easy one. The Lady Eleanor stole from Scarf Style. Because it’s entrelac, and it’s big. I love entrelac, but I’m very slow and make lots of mistakes, so it would keep my busy for a long time.

a. If you didn’t have to earn money to make a living and you literally could afford to do anything you could possibly imagine – what would it be and who would be with you?

First I would hire an amazing nanny, kind, loving, strict enough, and smart. Then I would take said nanny, my husband and son and set off to see the world. We would go from country to country, continent to continent. Sometimes we would stay in luxury, sometimes in squalor. We would stay long enough in each place to see the tourist sights and see how the locals live. We would hire local guides everywhere so that we really get to know someone. (Of course, we would fly first class!)

b. If you could be someone other than yourself – who would it be and why?

Maybe Rosie O’Donnell. I really admire that she’s willing to say what she thinks and that she uses her money to make things happen for people. (I don’t always agree with her, but I admire her.)

c. If you could only bring ONE knitting project to a deserted island with you, what would it be and why?

Either the Learn to Knit Afghan, or the Great American Afghan. Why? Well, I would certainly want something that takes a long time to knit, who knows when I will be rescued! Both of these projects look interesting, there would be enough challenge as well as enough variation to keep me interested.

a. If you didn’t have to earn money to make a living and you literally could afford to do anything you could possibly imagine – what would it be and who would be with you?

I think I wouldn’t “be” anything; I would just let the crafty juices flow; sew, knit, cook, bake, draw, have a time of my life and all of that with my soon-to-be-husband 🙂 (oh and I would swim too, because, that’s the bestest thing in life;)

b. If you could be someone other than yourself – who would it be and why?

hum…I would rather be me but the first thing that falls into my head is Marilyn Monroe. Why? Because I think she’s so beautiful, well that is, not in her “official” powdered up photos but in the ones where she is not acting…

c. If you could only bring ONE knitting project to a deserted island with you, what would it be and why?

If I could bring one knitting item to the beach….I think it would be a huge big wool blanket because……seriously I don’t know what sort of island it is and I may be cold:) Also I guess that means I would have lots of yarn with me so come, summer, I could frog the blanket and make bikinis;)

a. I would write novels and spend a lot of time puttering around with crafts and pets and children and gardening and cooking and baking and playing the piano and the guitar. And spending time with my dear husband! I would most definitely never clean the house again. Or do laundry. Or scoop the cat’s litter box!

b. That’s a tough one. I can’t imagine being someone else. Maybe J K Rowling? It would be awesome to be the creator of something that brings so much joy to so many people. She has such a great success story. I enjoy the Harry Potter novels; I don’t think they’re the best books ever, but I love how they have brought people together.

c. If you could only bring ONE knitting project to a deserted island with you, what would it be and why?
Right now it would be Mr. Greenjeans! I found your blog through a google search for the pattern. I’m knitting one up in Malabrigo in “violetas.”

[…] 21st, 2007 at 5:51 pm (Exchange, Fun Stuff, Knitting) Tonight is the last night to enter into my de-stash contest. Winners will be announced this […]

a. If you didn’t have to earn money to make a living and you literally could afford to do anything you could possibly imagine – what would it be and who would be with you?

I take Mark & the boys to Europe & then knit my way around the rest of the world.

b. If you could be someone other than yourself – who would it be and why?

I can’t imagine wanting to be anyone else, I can however imagine being my younger self again & reversing some bad choices I made.

c. If you could only bring ONE knitting project to a deserted island with you, what would it be and why?

Something large & lace weight on tiny needles, how about a bedspread, that should take a few years to finish.

a. If you didn’t have to earn money to make a living and you literally could afford to do anything you could possibly imagine – what would it be and who would be with you?
— I am obviously not alone in this dream, but I would travel everywhere I’ve always wanted to go (most of the world) by train and by boat, knitting in hand. My daughters, husband and my parents would be with me. Some other knitters would be fun too!

b. If you could be someone other than yourself – who would it be and why?
— You know, I can’t think of a single person other than myself that I’d rather be. I love myself and my family and where I am in my life right now (at least mostly. Cleaner would be good. OK, how about myself in a clean house.).

c. If you could only bring ONE knitting project to a deserted island with you, what would it be and why?
–Something complex enough to keep me interested and take a while. It would probably be a large lace project, like the cobwebweight one from A Gathering of Lace, for example. But I could also see an Alice Starmore Fair Isle kind of pattern with many different colors. Hopefully the deserted island is not too hot…..

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

History

