Midwest Knit Girl

I’ve Been Tagged

Posted on: December 18, 2007

I haven’t been tagged in a while and Jen did tag me about a week ago but I haven’t been quite in the mood to do this. How can you properly do one of these if you’re not in the mood, right? So here goes – hey, I’m taking Nyquil so the answers will naturally just flow from me, right?

The Rules:

Once tagged, you must link to the person who tagged you. Then post the rules before your list, and list 8 random things about yourself. At the end of the post, you must tag and link to 8 other people, visit their sites, and leave a comment letting them know they’ve been tagged.

1. In the early 70’s (1970-1973) my siblings and I each got to spend time at Grandma and Grandpa’s house in the summer time without the other sibling’s along for the ride. It was so much fun not only because we each got our special time with Grandma and Grandpa but because we’d get to go to the amusement park that was near their house. Oh, an extra for you on this one…my mom’s youngest sister is 10 months younger than me so it was always one of us plus her and my grandparents.

2. Here are some fun numbers for you. Course, this means I’m giving away my age but oh well. In 2008 I will be 45, my husband will be 55, my mom will be 65 and my mother-in-law will be 75.

3. I was a big time reader as a child and just couldn’t get enough! Even in the summer time, I would go to the library and I would get one of those forms from the librarian that I could write down all of the books I read during the summer (you could fit something like 30 book titles on it). One summer I read almost 200 books. Two of my faves were Nancy Drew Mystery Stories and anything with Pippi Longstocking.

4. Contrary to what a lot of people do, I don’t save a lot of ‘things’ unless they have immense sentimental value to me. I have two things from my childhood that I simply cannot part with. One is a book that my Uncle Joe gave me in 1970 called The Tall Book of Fairy Tales. The copyright inside is 1947. My favorite story in there is Snow White & Rose Red. I have read this book when I have been happy, sad, didn’t matter it always makes me happy or even happier. However, I’ve read it so much that the spine is literally taped together (see photo at bottom of post). The other thing I’ve held onto was from my mom and dad (sister got one too but she can’t find hers, nyah nyah nyah nyah nyah). It’s a tiny little fairy doll that sits in a plastic flower that happens to be a pin. We got these one Easter in the late 60’s/early 70’s. Photo below of that also. 

5. Growing up, every Sunday my grandparents and the aunt who is similar in age to me would come over for dinner and my parents and grandparents would play cribbage all afternoon while we kids tried to stay out of their way. Whichever team lost a game (they played a LOT of them in one afternoon) they’d have to pay a nickel per losing point to the ‘Christmas kiddy’ which was a bleach bottle with a slot in it like a piggy bank, that the winnings would go into and at Christmas time they’d split the winnings to pay for gifts.

6. I refused to actually sit down and learn to play cribbage myself until I met my husband (turns out it’s the ONLY game he’ll play because it’s truly a game of strategy, if there’s no strategy for him, what’s the point). Funny thing is, I picked it up so quickly it amazed even me. But then again, I watched my parents and grandparents play for probably 20 years. I guess I picked up on something. Now I have to beg hubby to play because I like the game so much! One extra – my mom has played cribbage for over 45 years – you can lay your cards down on the table and before you can even lift your hand from the table?? She’s got your points counted. She doesn’t even do  the 15-2, 15-4 counts etc, she just says 22, 20, nothing, 5. Whatever the total is – boom. Blows my mind.

7. Growing up we had a metal tinsel tree and a revolving light fixture that sat on the floor that rotated and turned the tinsel green, then red, then blue. How I loved that.

8. I grew up with cats but am now allergic to them and cannot have one. Total bummer that one. One of my favorite cats we had of all time was Snoopy. She was a tortishell kitty with what I called peanut butter colored patches on her face. She was so damn smart. You could throw a superball down the stairs to the basement, she’d retrieve that sucker. Over and over. She would also let you know when she was offended by YOUR actions. Yes, your actions. For instance, if I was reading or had something in my lap and she wanted to be there and I wouldn’t let her, she would sit down on the floor at my feet, tilt her head to one side until she saw I was looking and then boom, swivel it the other way as if to say, fine, I don’t need YOU either. What would I do? Duh, pick her up. This goofball passed away at the age of 19. I’ll get a picture of her out here as well.

Wow, now who to tag? I pick my Cousin Julia (happy belated birthday!!), Robyn of Canada, The Sock Queen,  Jae – Ye Who Is Now Published In The Knitting World.

I’ll figure out the other 4 tomorrow and will leave comments for all of them tomorrow as well. Nyquil is telling me to go to bed.

4 Responses to "I’ve Been Tagged"

Oh. My. Gosh. I had that exact same book as a child. I am sure it is still at my mother’s house!

Great meme! As a kid, I always had my nose in a book and loved Nancy Drews and read the Pippi Longstockings too. AS you probably know, I have a vintage aluminum tree with the colored revolving light! That fairy pin rocks!

Nice cribbage story! That instant count thing is amazing, but I’ve played people who do that. It takes me about 2 seconds, but I’m hoping some day to be that quick. :o)

My grandma had one of those retro silver tinsel trees until about 10 years or so ago!

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

History

