Midwest Knit Girl

Introducing –

Posted on: January 8, 2008

Posies & Lemon Drops

What is Posies & Lemon Drops you ask? Well, allow me to explain.

Over the holidays I found myself wanting to do something for others – to pay it forward, so to speak. So I went out on the web and found this wonderful organization that I hoped would appreciate hand crafted items from my knitting and crocheting friends (and me, too!). Knowing how much we all enjoy helping others I knew upon reading about this organization that it would be just the right one for us to contribute to and it turns out they agree.

I’d like to introduce to you an organization called Ascension Place. Below is the description directly from their site, please do go out to see their site in its entirety.

“When the going gets tough, we all need a place to go to. For many women, Ascension Place, Inc. provides shelter from the storm during difficult times. Both programs, Ascension Place and St. Anne’s Place, are safe, supportive, and caring living environments for women struggling with complex issues, including homelessness, mental illness, and chemical dependency. The caring staff at both programs works with residents to instill the self-confidence and skills enabling them to face the world again. The mission of both Ascension Place and St. Anne’s Place is to provide women in crisis or transition with a stable environment and the opportunity to explore options for their future.”

To fulfill my desire to contribute, and perhaps yours, I’ve created a blog where I will host a perpetual drive (that’s right, no end date!) to make hand knitted and hand crocheted wash cloths for the residents of Ascension Place. Prior to me delivering the wash cloths, each one will be folded into a small square along with two small soaps, tied together with a yellow ribbon and a little artificial flower.

If you’re interested, please check out the blog.

1/29/2008 – Edited to note:

Contest cancelled – seems there’s no interest and that’s totally cool!! I’ll just have to figure out how to make a button myself – will be what they call at work ‘a learning opportunity’.

Oh, did I forget to mention the contest?? Silly me. I’d like a button for the blog but I’m not good making them. If you’re up for it, check out the blog and come up with a button that you feel is right for it. 

1. What to do?

Create a button for the Posies & Lemon Drops blog and send to the email listed under contact information at that blog, I will post all buttons on the blog for all to see prior to announcing a winner, I mean winners. Yes, two of you. After the contest, both buttons will be available to everyone who wants to put one on their blog (and I know you want to).

2. Due Date: January 31st, midnight, central time

3. Prize: Yarn, of course.

4. Winners to be announced on February 1st on this blog and at the Posies & Lemon Drops blog.

Have fun knitting and crocheting and creating buttons!

Thanks everyone,

Patty

2 Responses to "Introducing –"

I’m too technically lame to make a button but I’ll make a washcloth.

[…] a reminder, I have a contest going on…check it out. It’s mentioned at the bottom of the […]

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

History

