Midwest Knit Girl

Workshops I Took

Posted on: February 27, 2008

I signed up for 3 workshops and ended up switching out of one and into another because I hadn’t seen the one until I got there. Just missed it in the info packet. Anyway, I was signed up for Nordic Inlay with Nancy Bush, Cable Variations with Melissa Leapman and Morphing Cables with Fiona Ellis. I ended up switching out of the Morphing Cables and into Cuff Craze with Karen Alfke (no offense to Fiona). I really like Karen and her teaching method, that’s why I switched (I took her Linen Stitch workshop last year, awesome stitch).

Anyhoo, the Nordic Inlay was interesting but I can’t see myself using this technique, at least not right now. I also think you have to be really, really, really good at it to make it look good. However, one thing she taught us that I hadn’t known before that I WILL use again was the double start cast on. Kick butt! it ofers a much more elastic edge than a regular one. Here’s the photo. It’s not perfect but it was my first try so I think it’s okay. I can’t wait to figure out what else to use it on. Oh, note the orange and purple, that isn’t done AFTER you knit, it’s done AS you knit. So a cool technique but I think I’ll hold off on doing it for a while.

 The Cable Variations workshop was awesome, Melissa always has something fun and interesting to teach. The thing I liked the best was doing two colored cables. You read that right. The picture below is not mine, it’s Melissa’s sample. I haven’t finished mine yet but want you to see what it looks like. There’s also a closeup below that one. The other one she showed us was a dropped stitch cable, she uses this stitch for one of her sweaters in her Hot Knits book.

And for the cuff class – I forgot to take pictures so I’ll have to update you on this one tomorrow. Sorry!

I did buy yarn – zero willpower. What can I say? How can you fondle and not buy?? Actually, I had to buy a skein for the cuff class but I also fell for the felted snuglets kit.

The lighter color will be the interior. Cool, aren’t they??

 That’s all for today, tune in tomorrow for part 3.

6 Responses to "Workshops I Took"

You KNOW what I GOTTA HAVE, right????!!!! We’ll chat. 🙂

I really like the dropped stitch cable! I like the 2 colored cables, too, but I still don’t know how to quite work with 2 colors. I’m going to take a class at Double Ewe on doing just that…then I’ll be back.

Looks like you’re having fun out there! Your cable variations samples are awesome, even a non-knitter like myself can appreciate it. 🙂 Btw, your aquarium pictures were GORGEOUS!

Waiting for my own trip to Cali in April!

I love love love the two colored cables! WOW!

Looks like you had fun!

I almost keeled over when I saw that 2 color cable! That is so gorgeous & so f-ing cool! Love that felted slipper kit too.

really love the felted snuglets kit…..have looked all over the net for this kit……how can i get it? have you made them yet? thanks for your help!

Hi Kimber, the woman who sold the kit has an online website to sell her products but my BF said they aren’t up there yet.

Here’s the blog link:
http://www.pickupsticksonline.com/

I suggest you go there and then to the Contact Us section to drop her a line and ask when they’ll be available.

I was lucky enough to pick up my kit at Stitches, unfortunately I haven’t finished them but so far I love the yarn. It’s really quite nice. Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

History

