Midwest Knit Girl

Computer Help, Please?

Posted on: April 5, 2008

I was trying open someone’s blog from another blog I was at and got an error message that my ‘virtual memory was too low and that my system was going to assign” etc, I tried to do a copy / paste but I was unsuccessful.

Here’s the details on the pc. I have a desktop computer, Sony Vaio, purchased in 2001. It has a 1.50 GHZ Processor, 128MB PC-800 RDRAM, 60 GB Ultra (no idea what this is), V.90 modem. The C: drive indicates I have 3.02 GB space (total available = 15.9GB), the D: drive indicates I have 39GB free space. I use DSL to get to the internet and I do not have this type of issue or any slow issue when my work laptop is hooked up to the DSL so I doubt it’s that.

Is it a matter of moving crap off the C: drive onto the D: drive so that whatever needs to run on the C: drive will run faster? If so, which stuff should be moved and what shouldn’t?  My machine is slow whether I’m trying to open a word file or head out to the internet. One other thing, I don’t leave the machine on all the time, I only turn it on when I need it. Any advice? I’ve tried to clean up as many files as possible, clear out cookies, etc. What else should I do? Is it time for the pc pros to take a look??

Muchas gracias in advance for anyone’s advice on how best to proceed other than drop kicking the CPU into the yard or just rushing out to pay someone to do something for money that I could do for free.

2 Responses to "Computer Help, Please?"

HA!!! i just had this same problem with my computer! mine is a 2003 dell. anyway…computer geek at hubby’s work said i needed to add 1 stick of 1 gig memory. which i just finished not 4 minutes ago! take all your paperwork to a computer store (microcenter) and show the papers to the geek there, tell him you want a 1gig stick, take it home, open your tower, take out the old and put in the new!!! if you need more help, email me and i’ll give you my phone number and talk to you 🙂
i am SUCH the geek now 😉

Seriously??? That’s it? I like easy fixes, thank you!! I’ll let you know what I find out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

History

