Midwest Knit Girl

It’s Become An Obsession…

Posted on: April 8, 2009

So much so that I’ve made bag number 4 and my knitting has fallen to the wayside. Did I really just say that??ย  Wow.

This particular bag is my prototype:

  • Approximately 9″ wide x 11″ high
  • Has inside pockets
  • It’s lined
  • Fashioned with a box bottom
  • Skinny straps
  • No batting

The fabric came from a fellow swapper on swap-bot.com, she brought it back for me from Hawaii. Thank you to julijul!.

I’m going to make three bags and sell them on etsy. Not selling afterall, I know just who will be getting bags for gifties. They’ll be approximately 14″-16″ wide by 16″-18″ high, not including straps. The straps will be wider than the prototype to be more in line with the larger sized bag and I plan to make them thicker (triple fold the fabric or add something in between the fabric as a strengthener).

For each bag there will be two kinds of fabric, one is a semi-solid color (very small print) and the other is a paisley. They’re really cool!

  • Black / black and cream paisley
  • Lime green / lime green and bright blue paisley
  • Darker green / adobe brick red paisley

The paisley prints are not the itty bitty paisley that I remember from my childhood, they’re much more sophisticated. I’m not sure what the patterns will actually be, in other words, will I use the 6″ template, the 5″ template, the glass from a picture frame again, no idea. Regardless, I’ll post a note when they’re ready for sale. That reminds me, I need to figure out how to price them. Hmmm.

Well, I need to get ready for school. Wait, maybe I can play hookey and sew? No? Fine – I’ll sew tomorrow. ๐Ÿ™‚

Click on the picture to see larger image

(will bring you to flickr, click above the photo where it says ‘all sizes’).

Bag #4

Bag #4

4 Responses to "It’s Become An Obsession…"

i LOVE these bags
how do i get one?? does being the.best.ever.sp.pal count for anything?? ๐Ÿ™‚

Hi Leslie,

Thanks for the compliment, they are so fun to make. If you want one, email me and we can talk pattern/size/price. ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Easter!

it’s me! sorry, i never checked back for your reply. i’ll email you at the other email i have for you ๐Ÿ™‚

[…] material I received earlier this year. I forgot to take pictures, sorry, but at my bag post here you’ll see the fabricย  I used. They were just basic 5″ squares which I ironed […]

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

History

