Midwest Knit Girl

Want To Win Some Yarn?

Posted on: April 27, 2009

Well, if you want to win some yarn you’ll have to enter my spring trivia contest. All questions were taken from a site I found (and will credit once contest is over) but try to answer them without googling for the answers. Like I would know you did that, right?

The contest consists of answering 10 true or false questions about spring.

Here’s what you need to do.

  • Leave a comment on this post listing your answers to each one (example: 1. F, 2. T). Only one entry per person allowed.
  • DEADLINE: FRIDAY, MAY 1st, 2009, midnight, CST (this is May Day so it seems an appropriate deadline, yes?)
  • DRAWING: Saturday, May 2nd, 2009 (my birthday, incidentally). Those that have all the answers correct will have their names put into the proverbial hat and one name will be drawn for a prize. Winner will be announced on Saturday night on this blog.
  • PRIZE: The winner will receive enough yarn from me to make a small project, such as mittens, scarf, kerchief, socks, whatever. Just know it’s my choice what you get but the yarn will be nice and you will receive enough to make something out of it.
  • ELIGIBILITY:You may not leave your comment with answers anonymously, if you do I won’t know who you are and how to contact you should you win. That seems obvious but it has happened in the past. Believe me.

This contest is open to everyone, no matter where you live, be it Europe, Canada, the USA, wherever, enter away!

HERE ARE THE QUESTIONS

  1. On the first day of spring, the hours of daylight and of darkness are equal.
  2. During the vernal equinox, around March 21st, an egg will stand on its small end.
  3. The ancient Greeks celebrated Mother’s Day in spring.
  4. Finding a four-leaf clover is thought to bring you good luck.
  5. The area along the California-Oregon border, is known as the “Easter Lily Capital of the World.”
  6. Baby birds must learn how to sing.
  7. Arbor Day, which encourages the planting of trees and celebrates the role trees play in the environment, is traditionally celebrated on the last Monday in April.
  8. Spring Fever is a real physical condition.
  9. An emerald represents spring.
  10. William Wordsworth wrote a famous poem about daffodils.
21 Responses to "Want To Win Some Yarn?"

Here’s my attempt:

1) F (due to atmospheric refraction, if I’m remembering high school correctly)

2) F

3) T

4) T

5) T

6) T (or if it isn’t, they sure grow a lot of them)

7) F (it depends on where you are)

8) T

9) T? (It’s green and is the May birthstone, so this would make sense)

10) T

Have a happy birthday!

Just wanted to let you know that I posted about your contest on WiKnit, my knitting contest blog! http://wiknit.blogspot.com

Let me give this a try; it’s been a while since I’ve taken a pop quiz…

1) F
2) F
3) F
4) T
5) T
6) F
7) F
8) F
9) F
10) T

1. T
2. F
3. F
4. T
5. T
6. T
7. F
8. F
9. T
10.T

Some of these are guesses, but I hope they’re right!

Here’s my answers. I hope I’m smarter than a 5th grader!
1. F
2. F
3. T
4. T
5. T
6. T
7. F
8. T
9. T
10.T

I want yarn please!

1. F
2. F
3. T
4. T
5. T
6. T
7. F
8. T
9. T
10. T

AM I GOING TO WIN?

1. F
2. F
3. T
4. T
5. T
6. T
7. F
8. T
9. T
10. T

This pattern is starting to look familiar, eh?

Here goes:
1) T
2) T (but it will also stand on its small end any other day of the year, the vernal equinox has nothing to do with it)
3) T
4) T
5) T (Ya betcha!)
6) T (And they sometimes actually learn the wrong song)
7) F (last Friday in April, but may vary by state)
8) F (psychological, but of course that could lead to physical symptoms)
9) T
10) T

I just checked and no one else has my answers – Watch everyone start to copy from me since I sound so knowledgeable 🙂

OK – I just heard about this from my friend, so I’m gonna give it a try too (since I want to win)I think there are some trick questions going on here mixed in with the easy ones.
1)T
2)T – we did it at school, but then we also did it a month later and it worked too. shaking up the egg helps
3)T
4)T
5)T
6)T
7)F
8)F
9)T
10)T

OK – here’s my answers. Most I KNOW, but there are some that are guesses or interpretations. One thing I’ve learned from my many years as a student is that the person you might be tempted to copy from knows less than you do 🙂 So here are my answers/guesses.

TRUE: 1,2,3,4,5,6,9/10
FALSE: 7,8

And there’s a little voice here calling: pick me, pick me!

Cute idea, hmmm, wake up brain….

1. T
2. F
3. T
4. T
5. T
6. T (they babble first)
7. T (but can vary from state to state due to seasonal changes)
8. T
9. T
10. T

1-F
2-T
3-T
4-T
5-T
6-T
7-F
8-T
9-T
10-T

Here are my answers:
1.T
2.F
3.T
4.T
5.T
6.T
7.I am going to say T, and acknowledge that sometimes it isn’t.
8.T (I have it right now! jk) 🙂
9.T
10.T

I think you have a couple of questions in there that might have different answers depending on how you interpret the question, especially the spring fever question. That depends on a couple of things as far as I can tell. Spring fever USED to be a real physical condition, especially in the midwest. After a winter of limited access to food, people were often physically sick from lack of it, particularly certain types of food. Now that food is available in supermarkets all year round, it is no longer a physical ailment but more a psychological one (like I’ve got right now). So I’m going with F but you could argue that it at least used to be T. So please pick me for a prize for this nice essay I’ve written!

1. T
2. T
3. T
4. T
5. T
6. T
7. F
8. F
9. T
10.T

1. T
2. F
3. T
4. T
5. T
6. T
7. T
8. T
9. T
10. T

Altho all the answers I found also had qualifiers….if this…but that

1. True
2. False
3. True
4. True
5. True
6. True
7. True
8. True
9. True
10. True

Hehe, this looks like a lot of fun, so I’ll have to have a go – though those questions look a bit hard. I hope the answers will come up here too so we have a chance to know if we nailed any of them… Here goes…
1. True (guess it has to be on the Northern side of Equator to be true…)
2. False (some eggs can do it – but they can do it any day then, not just one)
3. True (I think I recall they actually celebrated the mothers of the Gods, but perhaps it was just all mothers…)
4. True (And I found one the day before yesterday)
5. True (Ok, it’s a guess, I’ve never been there. But the name is so pretty I just had to hope it would be true…)
6. True
7. True (I’m guessing again but a friend celebrated Arbor Day in Arizona a few years ago – and it was about this time of year…)
8. True (Due to changes around us)
9. True (At least it does in Season Rings here in Denmark)
10. True (Every poet writes about flowers!!!)

Well, that was fun. I’m pretty sure there are some mistakes in there – but I like to guess 🙂 Thanks for letting us plys along…

All my knitting friends from work have entered, so I need to try too (and I know who the smarty pants to copy from are 🙂 )

I see what people mean about interpretations of questions so, here goes:

1. T
2. T If you mean is it possible to do
2. F If you mean only during the vernal equinox
3. T
4. T
5. T
6. T
7. F
8. F Now a psychological syndrome which can, of course, lead to physical condition
8. T The lack of availability of fresh fruits and vegetables over the winter used to lead to a real physical condition called spring fever. Now everything shows up all year round in even small towns. Hurray for refrigeration, transportation and worldwide communication, not to mention Chile’s produce production.
9. T
10.T

hi! I’d love to win your yarn! 🙂 I found your blog by looking for projects using reynolds lopi to felt an object. Have any thoughts on such a project? I’ve only done one felted item, but I really need this next one to be good — it’s actually for work!
Anyway, here are my answers:
1. True — sunrise gets earlier and earlier after that, at least until fall rolls around. I know cuz I did a project for my master’s studying birds and had to be out at sunrise!
2. False — I don’t think that can ever happen, can it?
3. true — we do that now, so there must be some logical reasons for our traditions, right?
4. True
5. True
6. True — see above comment about studying birds for my master’s…I actually learned it in my ornithology class!
7. True, and Earth Day is April 22!
8. True
9. True, green and pretty, but also the color of Emerald Ash Borer, the other species I studied for my master’s…
10. True, and daffodils are my favorite flower!
I hope my name is drawn from the proverbial hat! 🙂
Thanks!
-Maria

Hey, my birthday’s Saturday too! Perhaps we’re twins?

1. T
2. F
3. T
4. T
5. T
6. T
7. T
8. T
9. T
10. T

So, maybe since it’s my birthday, I’ll get lucky! Happy birthday to you! Hope yours will be wonderful. I’m going to Disneyland. You get in free, ypu know…

[…] going to make you read this first. I’d like to thank everyone who submitted an entry for my spring contest. It was quite a lot of fun reading through them, you are quite the […]

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

History

