Midwest Knit Girl

And The Winner Is…

Posted on: May 2, 2009

Bet you want to know who won but I’m going to make you read this first. I’d like to thank everyone who submitted an entry for my spring contest. It was quite a lot of fun reading through them, you are quite the bunch!

I noticed there were quite a few people who thought question number 2 (about the egg) was true, but the Web site where I found the quiz says the answer is false. I think the key words in determining this to be true or false is ‘small end’. Go back to the quiz if you want to know what I’m talking about. Regardless, I’ve done two things to make it fair for everyone. One, that question is now a freebie for everyone and two, I found a link to a great little egg experiment that I think you’ll find amusing. Note the eggs are standing but on the large end.

Now, I’m also providing the answers as noted exactly on the Web site called passionup (it’s a card company, don’t get wiggy on the name and think you’re going to go somewhere naughty when you click on it) where I found the questions for the contest.

Okay, so you want to know who won?? Well, those who know me know I can’t just pick one winner. So, since the hubster is still sleeping (bum, love you) I used a random name generator in Excel to pick two winners of those who got all the answers correct (without the freebie for number 2) and one winner for all of those who didn’t get all the answers correct.

CORRECT ANSWER WINNERS:

Moonhonu and Maria. Congratulations to you both!! Please e-mail me (midwestknitgirlATgmailDOTcom) with your snail mail addresses and I’ll pick some yarn out for you.

INCORRECT ANSWER WINNER:

Rachel O. Congratulations, Rachel!! Please e-mail me (midwestknitgirlATgmailDOTcom) with your snail mail address and I’ll pick something out for you. It may or may not be yarn, you never know with me.

Thank you to everyone who participated and keep in mind that I’ll be hosting another contest sometime during the summer so keep an eye on this blog – if you didn’t win this time there’s always another opportunity! Speaking of blogs, if any of you have blogs, I’d love to know what they are. I’m always looking for new blogs to lurk around in. 🙂

ANSWERS FROM PASSIONUP FOR THE QUIZ:

1. True. Around March 21st, the earth’s position in its orbit around the sun places its equator in line with the sun. This time period is called the “vernal equinox” and is the first day of spring in the Northern Hemisphere. “Vernal” means spring and “equinox” means equal.

2. False. Although some people would swear that an egg will stand on its small end during the vernal equinox, there’s no scientific evidence to support these claims.

3. True. The ancient Greeks celebrated Rhea, “Mother of the Gods,” with honey-cakes, beverages, and flowers at dawn–the earliest known Mother’s Day celebration.

4. True. Four-leaf clovers are thought to bring good luck, but there’s no scientific evidence to support that claim.

5. True. An area along the California and Oregon border produces 95 percent of all bulbs grown in the world for the potted Easter lily market. They produce more than 11 million bulbs annually.

6. True. Though baby birds are born with the ability to sing, they must learn the songs of their species. An isolated baby bird will learn simple songs, but not the complex songs of its species. A bird must hear in order to learn. Only a few birds can sing the songs of other species. The mockingbird seems to be the best at imitating the songs of other birds.

7. True. Arbor Day is traditionally celebrated on the last Monday in April; however, each state can select its own date, depending on weather conditions. The first Arbor Day Celebration was held on April 10, 1872 in Nebraska.

8. True. Spring Fever is a real physical condition which commonly occurs when a sudden warm spell follows a long cold period. When the temperature rises, the body has to get rid of heat; thus there’s a dilation or expansion of the blood vessels so that blood can be carried to the body surface where heat can be lost quickly. Some people experience an energetic feeling when this change happens due to the body’s reaction to the great amount of internal work going on.

9. True. An emerald represents spring, rebirth, hope, peace, and tranquility.

10. True. William Wordsworth wrote the poem, “I Wandered Lonely As a Cloud,” which was about yellow daffodils.

3 Responses to "And The Winner Is…"

Just wanted to say:

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

oh wow, thank you!!! And happy birthday again!

I thought I posted a big Yahoo! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

History

