Midwest Knit Girl

Curiouser and Curiouser

Posted on: May 28, 2009

Huh. A number of years ago, at least 5 is my best guess, I signed up and paid for a year’s subscription to an online greeting card company (you can also print out cards that you design). Each year I saw the charge I would tell myself to either contact them and ask for a refund for the auto renewal or vow to use the service and get my $15.99 worth. This year I saw the charge on my credit card and right away I’m on the phone because I decided to ask them to cancel my account and to refund me the most recent charge.

To put it simply, their automated phone process leaves a lot to be desired. To put it truthfully, it sucks. I was on the phone for nearly 15 minutes trying to find a live person to talk to instead of going in circles from one option to the other. Never got to one.

I then went to the web site where their help information is pretty useless. Here’s why I say that. Multiple times during the phone call one of the options kept telling me to log in at the site to see if my question is posted there, if not then use their contact us email I’d find there as well. Huh. I sure can’t do either one because part of my problem is I have no idea which email I used and it was so long ago, my best guess is that it has been closed. Clearly, I can’t log in to find the info I need.

I did, however, find an email address for consumer relations. I sent an email explaining the situation, gave the last 4 digits of the card that was charged on, respectfully requested a refund and asked them to cancel my account and gave them my two cents on their automated phone system.

Here is the actual response:

Hello,

Thank you for contacting THATCARDCOMPANY (I’m not telling you the company name just yet, depends on the outcome) Customer Support. And thank you for taking the time to write to us with your comments and suggestions regarding our HELP section and automated system!  We appreciate your input and have passed your suggestions on to our Content Managers.

I located an account with the email address: (the one they listed I indeed had at one time) and with your name and address. I have closed this THATCARDCOMPANY Membership and a refund of your membership fee has been issued to your VISA credit card ending with xxxx. This should appear on your next credit card statement. I am only able to credit back to the card we have on file.

Want to know what the big problem is? The rep said they can only credit back to the card they have on file. Right? Then how come the one they are going to credit isn’t the same as the one that got charged? So I’ve sent another email back to them asking them to explain this. I mean think it through…if you can only credit to the one you have on file, how did you charge the one the charge is on in the first place???

Must sign off, it’s time to get ready for a wine/cheese benefit for The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. A good friend’s partner had lymphoma and this is their third annual event to help raise funds. I even got a pedicure today to be all pretty like – including gorgeous flowers on the big toes. Wahoo…never had that done before, looks really nice.:-)

I’ll keep you posted on what I find out from THATCARDCOMPANY.

1 Response to "Curiouser and Curiouser"

Thank goodness you didn’t have to remember a password too! Now that would have been the end of me… I would have been paying that bill for the rest of my years. Hope it all gets sorted out soon.
Hope the fundraiser went well too.
Cheers.

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

History

