Midwest Knit Girl

Contest Time at Chez Midwest

Posted on: July 23, 2009

WIN HANDMADE FABRIC COASTERS – FROM MKG!

This has to be one of the easiest contests you will ever enter. There are 18 questions for it but ALL of the answers can be found on the page in my blog called List of Things About MKG.

Will it be worth it to enter? You decide. By the way? In addition to the prize listed in the Rules section, there will be a little added surprise for each winner.

RULES:

1. Answer the 18 questions by leaving a comment. You can just list the numbers and your answers, no need to re-type or copy/paste the questions.

2. Contest ends on Sunday, August 9, 2009, midnight, CST.

3. Everyone who gets ALL of the questions correct will be entered into the contest. I will use a random number generator to pick TWO winners.

4.  Each winner will receive a set of 4 handmade coasters, in your choice of fabric combination’s (see my flickr page for options).

5. Winners will be announced the day after the contest ends.

THE QUESTIONS

(Remember, all the answers can be found on the List of Things About MKG page in this blog.)

  1. Do I consider acrylic ‘real’ yarn?
  2. Do I have a college degree?
  3. Do I have a driver’s license?
  4. Do I like to speak in front of a crowd?
  5. Have I been propositioned by a stranger?
  6. How did I meet my husband?
  7. How long did I work at a company before I was laid off last December?
  8. How long have I been married?
  9. How many best friends do I have?
  10. How many children do I have?
  11. What are my favorite colors?
  12. What is my husband’s nationality?
  13. What is my Ravelry id?
  14. What kind of volunteerism do I do?
  15. What state do I live in?
  16. What year was I born? Hint – look at the url of my blog or my Ravelry id.
  17. What’s the pattern of the curtains in my kitchen right now?
  18. Where would I like to retire?

Don’t be intimidated by Kitten’s entry, you only have to leave an answer for each question, you don’t have to do a story. I dared him to enter so therefore, he had to show off his writing skills. 😉

5 Responses to "Contest Time at Chez Midwest"

Answers in random order just because you dared to dare me!

Once upon right now there is a super cool lady that some folks call knitgirl63, cuz there are gonna be 100 candles on her birthday cake in 2063 (Do the math). Her stepfather sent her out on a date with someone, and then that someone became her husband. When she married her husband, she got a step daughter, and later the stepdaughter got a husband too. Things like that are really cool!

The lady’s husband was kind of like an old Lutefisk Lasanga – half Italian, half Norwegian and been there for 14 wonderful years. All four of her best friends like to go to her kitchen, where they can drink lemonade and then look at lemons by the window! The lemons by the window are something called Retro-Lemons, I guess they wear platform shoes and say out-of-date things like “Do the Hustle” and “23 Skiddoo”?

The lemons probably won’t be around too long, then maybe the lady will have curtains with pictures of New Mexico so she’ll be used to it when she retires there. She doesn’t have a college degree, and neither do I. I don’t know if it makes any difference right now, cuz things are all messed up. She already worked at one place for 24 years and 8 mos! They had to let her go, so now she’s back in school to learn a fun new job.

The lady is really nice, and likes to help people. She helps hungry people and soldiers, and gives money or makes nice knitted things for folks who need them. She doesn’t like to make things with acrylic yarn tho, cuz it’s just imaginary yarn, :”not real”. I wonder if her nail polish has to be wool and not acrylic?

One time some stranger in Cancun asked for help with something “personal”. That wasn’t a nice thing to do! But admit it – it can be flattering, right?

She doesn’t have a driver’s licence, not even in Minnesota where she lives. Things that are Purple or Turqoise or Emeraldy sometimes catch her eye, but not when she’s knitting herself something.

My 2nd favorite story about the lady is this:

One time she thought she wanted to have really cold fingers so she went to a place where there were strangers and she got up in front of them and started talking. She didn’t like it tho, cuz cold fingers aren’t all that great after all.

My 1st favorite story is that she is my friend!

Do I consider acrylic ‘real’ yarn? No

Do I have a college degree?No

Do I have a driver’s license? No

Do I like to speak in front of a crowd?No

Have I been propositioned by a stranger? yes

How did I meet my husband? blind date set up by stepfather

How long did I work at a company before I was laid off last December? 24 years and 8 months

How long have I been married? 14 years

How many best friends do I have? 4

How many children do I have? one daughter (but also a new son in law)

What are my favorite colors? turquoise,emerald green and purple

What is my husband’s nationality? half norwegian/half italian

What is my Ravelry id? knitgirl 63

What kind of volunteerism do I do? send stuff to soldiers, knit items for the needy, serve food to the homeless, give money

What state do I live in? Minnesota

What year was I born? 1963

What’s the pattern of the curtains in my kitchen right now? a retro lemon pattern

Where would I like to retire? new mexico!

It was fun getting to know you this way!

1. NO
2. No
3. No
4. No
5. Yes
6. blind date set up by step dad
7. 24 years and 8 months
8. 14 years
9. 4
10. 1 step daughter (plus newly acquired son in law)
11. purple, turquoise, and emerald green
12. 1/2 Norwegian & 1/2 Italian
13. knitgirl63
14. send stuff to soldiers, knit items for the needy, serve food to the homeless, give money
15. Minnesota
16. 1963
17. retro lemons
18. New Mexico

What a great way to get to know someone 🙂

1. No
2. No (me, neither)
3. No (really???)
4. No
5. Yes
6. Blind-date set up by stepfather
7. 24 years, 8 months (bummer!)
8. 14 years (way to go!)
9. 4
10. 1 step daughter & new son-in-law
11. Purple, turquoise, & emerald green (all pretty colors!)
12. 50% Norwegian, 50% Italian
13. knitgirl63
14. Volunteerism including sending stuff to soldiers, knitting items for the needy, serving food to the homeless, and giving money
15. Minnesota (me, too!)
16. 1963
17. Retro lemon pattern (cute!)
18. New Mexico (never been there myself)

That was fun!

1. Nope
2. No
3. Never
4. No – but you are working on it!
5. Yes
6. Blind date set up by your father
7. 24 years 8 months
8. 14 years
9. 4
10. 1 step daughter (and 1 son-in-law)
11. Purple, turquoise, emerald green
12. ½ Norwegian, ½ Italian
13. Knitgirl63
14. send stuff to soldiers, knit items for the needy, serve food to the homeless, give money.
15. Minnesota
16. 1963?
17. Retro lemon patter
18. New Mexico
(this was fun!)

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

History

