Midwest Knit Girl

Picture Post – As Promised

Posted on: October 4, 2009

I’m addicted. Seriously addicted. To making string pieced blocks for quilting projects. How in the world did this happen? Yowza!

I’m going to make my mom a chemo quilt to keep her warm during her treatments, I’m calling it the Happy Crazy Smile quilt. I’ll be making 24 – 12″ blocks that will be cut into various sizes. This is the first 12″ block done (click to go to flickr for larger sizes of all pictures):

For Mom's Quilt - Before Cutting

I made these blocks for the swaps I mentioned in the previous post. The first 2 sets of 6 start out as 7″x7″ but have since been cut to 6 1/2″x 6 1/2″. The pink one at the bottom is 12 1/2″ x 12 1/2″.

Set 2 For String Block Swap

Set 1 For String Block Swap

String Pieced Block 2

As for my other sewing: Here are a couple of the sets of coasters I tried to sell at the craft fair. Yes, there’s a safety pin in the corners, it’s just to keep the sets together in the travel bag. Each set has a different fabric on the back, that way you have two ways of displaying them.

2 Sets of 4 Coasters

2 Sets of 4 Coasters

I went to a couple of craft/art fairs in the last month or so and picked up a few things:

A set of 4 placemats, about 16 x 16, blue/white gingham on back. They’re very similar in look to the old fashioned oil cloth fabric.

Oilcloth placemat - spill on it, wipe it right off

A serving bowl and chip/dip bowl by Adama Sow, perfect for a party. Didn’t notice until I got home, they coordinate with the place mats!

Bowl

Chip Dip

An acorn pin for a certain someone, made from clay. Very cool. Clay Acorn Pin

Another gift for someone, it’s made from fused glass.

Fused Glass Ornament

A hanging for our south window in the living room, also fused glass. About 13″x 13″. Sorry for the towel but we haven’t hung it up yet.

Fused Glass Hanging

I also purchased a pretty sun catcher and a tote bag. The tote bag is made from the same ‘fabric’ as the place mats but not in a fruit pattern. The bag is reversible, silver/gray inside, gray floral print on black on the outside. I’ll get those pictures here this week. I forgot to take pictures because I already hung up the sun catcher and have been using the bag for school.

Okay, I’m hungry and need to do homework. I’ll be putting an update about my mom at the cancer blog tonight or tomorrow. She’s doing well. I’m not surprised. That’s my mom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

History

