Midwest Knit Girl

July Celebration in Honor of Frank

Posted on: July 22, 2010

I held a party last Saturday in honor of my husband, Frank, who passed away February 28, 2010. The day was so hot and sticky but we all stuck it out. Did you catch that? Sticky? Stuck it out? Hmmm.

Anyway, the temp apparently hit 93 degrees but I’m sure with the humidity it was closer to feeling like 100. You couldn’t be outside and not start sweating within moments. There was air conditioning in the house and I had fans going in the car-port area, garage, back patio and the deck. Some people even braved playing badminton in the sweltering temps! Um, not me. I was wearing a dress. For those who know me, it’s been a very long time since I’ve done that but sometimes you have to go outside your comfort zone and roll with it. I rolled.

There were lots of treats – popcorn, sno-cones, bars, cookies, banana bread, chips and salsa, fruits and veggies, crackers and dip, and water, water, water, water!

We also had storms. Wow, big storms happening all around us. But the last of us stayed under the car-port enjoying the evening as long as we could since it wasn’t hitting us yet. We didn’t move until the rain started coming sideways. I don’t think we wanted the day to end. I didn’t.

My best guess is somewhere between 55-60 people strolled through throughout the day. I saw friends that I hadn’t hooked up with in years, lots of family including those that live out of state, many of the neighbors came, Frank’s awesome friends were here as were mine. All in all, it was one fine day.

Thank you to everyone who came, in spite of the weather we still had a grand time. I still say Frank was with us in the form of the one, single, solitary rose that bloomed on the bush out front. How could that not be him? There hadn’t been buds or flowers on that bush in weeks, yet on the day before the party there was a bud. Then the day of the party –  it bloomed. It was his rose bush, ergo, it was Frank.

I love you, Frank. Thank you for being such a big part of my life and letting me be part of yours. We had some special connection, you and I, that I’ve never had with anyone else. Wherever you are, I’m betting you’re rocking the casbah in a big way!!

And now for your viewing pleasure, a few pictures. I didn’t get photos of even an nth of the people who came, for that I apologize. I just sort of, kind of, got busy with the party and forgot. 🙂

Me, Lisa

Lisa and I

Ruth, Me

Ruth and I

Sean, Lock, Me, Ruth

Sean, Lock, Me, Ruth

My step-father, Kim, and JT

Kim and Jim

Carly, Brandon, Peggy, Michelle (and her little dog, too)

Sanko's

Ruth, Bonnie

Ruth and Bonnie

Glenn, Auntie, Uncle

Glenn, Uncle Don, Auntie Von

Kris, Kat, Me
Kris, Kat and Me

My brother, Brian, Mom, Me, my sister, Deb

Mom and her kids

Me, Michelle

My cousin Michelle and me

Brian, Mom

Brian and Mom

Leo (Bonnie’s husband)

Leo

Rose Bush With One Rose

One Rose

One, Single, Solitary Rose: AKA Frank

Frank's Rose

14 Responses to "July Celebration in Honor of Frank"

Hi Patty
I am Jenthewen from Swap-bot, nice to read your blog. It all looks so cosy there!!
Keep up the good work on the site & best wishes.

Hi Patty, This is BeverlyBling from Swap-bot. How wonderful to have a party for Frank and I’m sure the solitary rose is significant. I’m looked after by an angel (or two I don’t know) but she leaves me feathers when I need a sign or some help. I don’t talk about this to many people.
I’m adding your blog to my Google reader, that way when you make a post I’ll get it immediately. I hope we’ll keep in contact

wHAT A WONDERFUL THING TO DO! My husband died 4 yrs ago on Oct. 1 and I still communicate with him! I’m gonna throw him a party! Blessings! LADYHIGHTOWER (swap-bot) I’ll put your link on my blog!

I am following by the way 🙂 I thought that wasn’t possible since my blog belongs to blogger, but it is!

Much love and a lovely Sunday,
Joana

Looks like a great day Patty – so nice for all those people to come and say hi, remember and pay tribute to Frank. And I like that he was there for you all too!
See you very soon!

Hi, this is Kristen from Swap-Bot. I am sorry about your husband but what a terrific idea to throw a party in his memory. I am sorry it was so hot outside! I think I am ready for some cooler weather!

I realized I didn’t leave my username! It is kalexn 🙂

Hi Patty,

My swap-bot name is ElizabethMD.

What a wonderful way to honor a loved one. I don’t know if this will help, but it helps me when I need it!

God saw you were getting tired
And it was not meant to be,
So he put his arms around you
And whispered,”come to me”.
With tearful eyes we watched you
And saw you pass away,
Although we loved you dearly
We could not make you stay.
A golden heart stopped beating
Hard working hands at rest
God broke our hearts to prove to us
He only takes the best.

P.S. I am also now following your blog as well.

Tremendous Prrogram Product Key Explorer 3.3.3.0 ÓíŃíÇáÇĘ to bring aall the programs where itt is now difficult for you to find
ÓíŃíÇáÇĘ forthings here. Program Product Key Explorer 3.3.3.0 ÓíŃíÇáÇĘ to brijng aall the programs where it is now difficult for
you to find ÓíŃíÇáÇĘ forI’m very glad to look your post.
Program Product Key Explorer 3.3.3.0 ÓíŃíÇáÇĘ to bring all the programs where it is now difficult for you to find ÓíŃíÇáÇĘ forThank you Program Product Key Explorer 3.3.3.0 ÓíŃíÇáÇĘ
to bring all the programs where it is now difficult for you to
find ÓíŃíÇáÇĘ forso much and Program Product Key Explorer 3.3.3.0 ÓíŃíÇáÇĘ
to bring all the programs where it is now difficult for you to find ÓíŃíÇáÇĘ
forI’m having a look Program Product Key Explorer 3.3.3.0
ÓíŃíÇáÇĘ to bring all the pfograms where it is now difficult for you to find ÓíŃíÇáÇĘ forforward too contact you.
Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

So here are a few terms that I needed to understand before buying Krill Oil for
myself:. And I agree with Ron Paul’s argument for disengagement based on our inability to afford these
nation-building enterprises. You are able to buy instagram likes, feed back and so followers to get your marketing
or advertising prerequisites that includes.

Excellent post. I was checking continuously this weblog and I’m inspired!
Extremely helpful information specially the remaining part
🙂 I maintain such info a lot. I was seeking this particular information for a
very long time. Thanks and best of luck.

And always make sure it’s 100% organic (some companies load their superfood up with Niacin and other non-organic
components — go for the organic green superfood and avoid
the Niacin hangover). Part of the confusion about superfoods comes from the fact that they are often backed
up by some legitimate scientific research; however, the conclusions may be blown way
out of proportion, becoming dubious claims eagerly accepted as fact.
Blueberries Chock filled with anti-oxidants and also phytoflavinoids, Blueberries are also high in potassium as
well as ascorbic acid.

Excellent post bսt I was wohdering if you coulpd writе a litte more onn thiks subject?
I’d be very thankful iif you could еlaborate a little bit more.
Thank you!

Leave a comment

Down, Stella!

1

Pick A Date

July 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

History